Putting the Stars on the Spot

9. MILB Interview: Fidel Pena (Missoula Osprey, Arizona D-Backs)

Greetings: Welcome back to On The Hot Seat, Today we have Arizona Diamondbacks prospect Fidel Pena On The Hot Seat. Pena currently plays in the Missoula Osprey which is the Arizona Diamondbacks Rookie Affiliate League team. Please enjoy the short interview I had with Fidel Pena. Follow On The Hot Seat on Twitter and Facebook.

Justin Godsey: How do you stay connected with fellow fans ?

Fidel Pena: well actually have never talked to a missoulas fan other than during the season.

Justin Godsey: How did you get into playing baseball ?

Fidel Pena: well im dominican and you this is what we do here its all about playing baseball some kids even quit school so they can dedicate more time to baseball.

Justin Godsey: Who introduced you into playing baseball ?

Fidel Pena: My dad did, he has always been a baseball men so he has a little league and i started playing since i was 2.

Justin Godsey: What baseball player did you grow up inspiring ?

Fidel Pena: well i played short stop and second base so my inspiration was Alex Rodriguez.

Justin Godsey: In 2010 the Osprey found interest in you and signed you to your 1st ever Pro Baseball Contract give us your reaction to making it to professional baseball league ?

Fidel Pena: You know its an amazing feeling bcause it was always my dream to get signed and be able to play  in front of thousands of fans.

Justin Godsey: Tell us what was going through your mind when you 1st appeared for the Osprey ?

Fidel Pena: WOW, the first time I stepped in the plate for our fans all I had I in my mind was positive thoughts I knew it was my time to show what I got.

Justin Godsey: Tell us about your style of play ?

Fidel Pena: well my style of play is just that guy that always husles and always try to pick up his teammates when they make errors and i consider myself a team player.

Justin Godsey: What is the hardest thing about being a catcher ?

Fidel Pena: I think the hardest thing about being a catcher is that we get more tired than everybody else out there our job never stops its pitch after pitch theres no time out.

Justin Godsey: What are we to expect from you and the Osprey in 2012?

Fidel Pena: I actually have plans and hopes of moving up next year but if ever go back to Missoula im sure ill give them my best out there.

Leave a Reply

